

MEDIA RELEASE 21 MAY 2019

Naledi Theatre Awards for Productions Staged in 2018

The winners of the 15th annual Naledi Theatre Awards were announced on the Mandela Stage at the Joburg Theatre on 20 May 2019.

The biggest winner of the night was the musical The Color Purple, which collected seven awards, followed by The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, which received three awards, and the new South African play Shoes and Coups and the children's theatre piece Goggas, which both garnered two awards.

The 2019 Naledi judges saw nearly 100 productions during 2018. After which they voted for their respective favourites; the votes for productions are done in secret and the results are audited.

Complete list of the winners of the 15th Annual Naledi Theatre Awards:

Best supporting actress Heidi Mollentze as Rona in The Revlon Girl

Best supporting actor Sipho Zakwe in Shoes & Coups B

Best production for children and young audiences (Aged 0 - 13)

Goggas! Prod. by National Children's Theatre, written by Gillian Katz adapted by Francois Theron, dir. by Jade Bowers

Best production for children and young audiences (Aged 14 – 17) polkadots Prod. by Redhill School in partnership with &CO, dir. by Shelley Adriaanzen

Best performance in a production for young audiences Jaques De Silva as Antic the Ant in Goggas!

Best breakthrough performance Ryan de Villiers as Miss Trunchbull in Roald Dahl's Matilda Best costume design

Fred Abrahamse and Marcel Meyer – Macbeth

Best lighting design

Gareth Hewitt Williams – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best AV/animation design

Gareth Hewitt Williams - The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best set design

Stan Knight – Fool for Love

Best sound design

Ntuthuko Mbuyazi - Florence

Best score/arrangement/adaptation

Kabelo "Bonafide" Togoe and Aubrey Sekhabi - Freedom

Best musical director

Rowan Bakker – The Color Purple

Best ensemble

Hani: The Legacy – Prod. by The Market Theatre Laboratory, created by graduates of The Market Theatre Laboratory, dir. by Leila Henriques

Best original choreography

Oscar Buthelezi - The Color Purple

Best director of a musical /revue

Janice Honeyman – The Color Purple

Best director of a play

Charmaine Weir-Smith - The Train Driver

Best supporting/featured performance in a musical/revue: female

Lelo Ramasimong as Shug Avery – The Color Purple

Best supporting/featured performance in a musical/revue: male

Yamikani Mahaka-Phiri as Harpo in The Color Purple

Best lead performance in a musical (female)

Didintle Khunou as Celie in The Color Purple

Best lead performance in a musical (male)

Paul du Toit as Hedwig in Hedwig and the Angry Inch

Best lead performance in a play (female)

Zikhona Sodlaka as Queenie in Nongogo

Best lead performance in a play (male)

Kai Luke Brummer as Christopher Boone in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best performance in a solo production: female/male

Daniel Mpilo Richards – Land Acts

Best new SA script

Shoes & Coups - Prod. by The Market Theatre Written and dir. by Palesa Mazamisa

Best production of a play

Tshepang: The Third Testament – Prod. by Joburg Theatre, written and dir. by Lara Foot

Best production of a musical

The Color Purple – Prod. by Joburg Theatre and Bernard Jay, dir. by Janice Honeyman

<ENDS>

By: Chris Avant Smith/Dawn Lindberg

Press and Media Enquiries: Chris Avant Smith Straight2media@gmail.com 061 060 9257