

## MEDIA RELEASE 13 JANUARY 2020

## Naledi Theatre Awards Judges for Productions Staged in 2019

It is with great pleasure that we announce the new Naledi Theatre Awards Judges for productions staged during 2019.

The Naledi Theatre Awards for these productions will be held at the prestigious Mandela Stage at the Joburg Theatre in 2020.

The Naledi Theatre Awards (for productions staged during 2018) will be held at the new home for Naledi, the Mandela Stage at the Joburg Theatre, on Monday 20 May 2019.

Now in their 15th year, the Naledi Theatre Awards have constantly re-evaluated the theatrical landscape in South Africa as it has developed considerably during that period. The new Board of Directors, led by TV star and Law degree and marketing expert, Chairperson, Kgomotso Christopher, have been hard at work in re-imagining and re-structuring the Awards to reflect the essential transformation of theatre in our industry.

Founder of The Naledi Theatre Awards and CEO, Dawn Lindberg, (with over 50 years' experience in the business of Show business), gave an overview of the re-structuring of the panel of judges: "over 100 professional shows are produced and staged throughout Gauteng each year, which makes it challenging for our existing panel of judges to see the requisite 80%. We have therefore created 6 new panels of judges specialising in each of the essential genres. They will be required to see and judge only the productions pertaining to their specific fields of expertise. These changes have necessitated the inclusion of nearly 50 new judges to the Naledi Awards Panels!"

Executive Director and Legal, Lihan Pretorius: Judges for each panel have been carefully selected, maintaining a good mix of age, genders and cultures. Each panel is led by a convenor and we will facilitate a special one-day workshop for the Convenors of each panel, as well as interested judges and industry participants, to explain and clarify our vision and modus operandi. We will also create liaison links with Theatre producers to assure them that they will not be inundated with judges clamouring for tickets!"

This all important and ground-breaking workshop will be held on Saturday 26 January at 13.30 for 14:00 - 17:00 followed by Q&A. Seats are limited and bookings are essential. These can be made through the Admin Manager, Kealeboga Tshenye on 010 900 4581 or info@naleditheatreawards.org.za

Continuing in his role as Chairperson of Judges, Renos Spanoudes, in ongoing consultation with the Board and Category Convenors, will ensure that the judging and eligibility criteria for each of the panels is strictly adhered to, as well as offering advice and guidance throughout the year. All panels will be re-assessed after 6 months.

The new categories and panels for productions staged during 2019 are as follows:

PLAYS: (including comedy, drama, farce) in Main Stream theatres with a minimum of 10 performances during the year under review.

Neka da Costa - CONVENOR

André Odendaal

Annelize Hicks

Chris Avant-Smith

Dawn Lindberg

Drew Bakker

Gopala Davies

Gregory Goss

Helen Heldenmuth

Henriëtta Gryffenberg

Jenni Newman

Johan van der Merwe

Josias Dos Moleele

Kailin Pillay

Khutjo Green

Lihan Pretorius

Maishe Maponya

Marie-Heleen Coetzee

Matthew Counihan

**Obett Motaung** 

Renos Spanoudes

Rowan Bakker

Tiffany Higgo

Thea Gafin

MUSICAL THEATRE: produced in Main Stream theatres, created in SA. Excluding compilation shows and variety shows. (Minimum of 10 performances)

Lance Maron – CONVENOR

André Schwartz

Annelize Hicks

Chris Avant-Smith

Dawn Lindberg

Drew Bakker

**Gregory Goss** 

Helen Heldenmuth

Jenni Newman

Johan van der Merwe

Josias Dos Moleele

JT Medupe

Kailin Pillay

Kealeboga Tshenye

Khutjo Green

Lihan Pretorius

Maishe Maponya Matthew Counihan Neka da Costa Renos Spanoudes Rowan Bakker Zwai Bala

THEATRE FOR CHILDREN & YOUNG AUDIENCES: aged 0-12/13-17: This section is proudly supported by ASSITEJSA, an international organisation specially created to encourage young people to experience and enjoy theatre; they are the audiences of the future! (minimum 8 performances in the year under review including school tours and Festivals for young audiences)

Thea Gafin – CONVENOR

Callie Fields

Dorianne Alexander

**Eghard Basson** 

Kgomotso Christopher

Nompumelelo Mtshali

Ratanang Mogotsi

Renos Spanoudes

Shira Milstein

Tsholofelo Shounyane

(ASSITEJSA rep)

DANCE AND PHYSICAL THEATRE: including all forms of professional contemporary dance and festivals; excluding Ballet (minimum 6 performances)

Ignatius van Heerden - CONVENOR

Bailey Snyman

Dawn Lindberg

Gladys Agulhas

Gopala Davies

Herman M. Tema

Khutjo Green

Pinto Ferreira

Sonia Radebe

Trish McKenna

INDEPENDENT FRINGE THEATRE: for small productions in new pop-up theatre venues by dynamic new (professional) producers and directors. (Minimum: 5 performances)

Khutjo Green -CONVENOR

Akhona R. Mlaza

Bailey Snyman

Callie Fields

Chubeka Nongwana

Herman M. Tema

JT Medupe

Marie-Heleen Coetzee

Maishe Maponya

Neka da Costa

**Obett Motaung** 

Quintin Wils

Renos Spanoudes

Senzo Zama

Sifiso L. Moyo

Themba Mahlangu

TERTIARY STUDENT / INCUBATOR THEATRE : for nonprofessional students or graduates in established performing Arts institutions. (minimum 5 performances)

Tiffany Higgo – CONVENOR

Bongani Maseko

Eghard Basson

Henriëtta Gryffenberg

Khutjo Green

Lihan Pretorius

Nompumelelo Mtshali

**Obett Motaung** 

Quintin Wils

Ratanang Mogotsi

Renos Spanoudes

Senzo Zama

Vianney Farmer

## SAVE THESE DATES!

Nominations Reveal: Tuesday 12 March 2019 @ the Fringe Theatre @ the Joburg Theatre Complex

The 2019 NALEDI THEATRE AWARDS EVENT for productions staged during 2018: Monday 20 May 2019 on the Mandela Stage @ the Joburg Theatre.

## <ENDS>

Editors Note: for further info please see the guidelines on our webpage www.naleditheatreawards.com

For further information, interviews per telephone, for radio and TV; live interviews, print, and social media, please contact:

Chris Avant-Smith: Straight2media@gmail.com