

SPECIAL AWARD WINNERS

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Naledi Theatre Awards honours Lifetime Achievers: veteran artistes, technicians, and administrators who have dedicated more than 30 years of their lives to SA Theatre

2020

Annabel Linder; Stan Knight

2019

Caiphus Semenya and Letta Mbulu

2018

Dr Don Mattera, Sandra Prinsloo

2017

Haccious Mokopakgosi

2016

Taliep Petersen (Posthumous), Alvon Collison

2015

Shaleen Surtie-Richards

2014

Fatima Dike, Mbongeni Ngema

2013

Sibongile Khumalo

2012

Judy Page, Thandi Klaasen

2011

Evita Bezuidenhout

2010

Hugh Masekela, Richard Loring, Tobie Cronje

2009

Lynette Marais, John Matshikiza (posthumous), Es'kia Mphahlele (posthumous)

2008

Welcome Msomi, Miriam Makeba, Bill Flynn (posthumous)

2007

David Phetoe, Doris Sehula, Michael Lovegrove (posthumous), Moira Lister, Selaelo Maredi

2006

Queenith Ndaba, Whinney Isiah Setimo, Cocky Thlothlalemaje, Mary Twala, Louis Van Niekerk, Frantz Dobrowsky (posthumous)

2005

Lillian Dube, Fiona Fraser, Neels Hansen, John Kani, Phyllis Klotz, Joyce Levinsohn, Joe Mafela, Michael McCabe, Zakes Mokae, Smal Ndaba, Nomhla Nkonyeni, Winston Ntshona, Dolly Rathebe (posthumous), Wilma Snyman

2004

Hermien Dommisse, Athol Fugard, Rex Garner, Alan Joseph (Posthumous), Abigail Kubeka, Miriam Makeba, Ramolao Makhene (Posthumous), Mannie Manim, Pieter Dirk Uys

2003

Anthony Farmer, Ken Gampu, Eghard van der Hoven, Gibson Kente, Joan Brickhill, Patrick Mynhardt, Percy Tucker, Norman Coombes, Michael Grobelaar, Gordon Mulholland

Executive Director's Award

This Award is presented to a Company, Producer or Individual who has made a significant contribution to the advancement and development of SA Theatre through their vision and commitment

2017

PopArt

2016

Thembi Mtshali

2015

Thembi Mtshali

2014

Liz Meiring

2013

Yvette Hardie, Managing Director of Assitej SA I The International Association of Theatre for Children and Young People.

2012

Basil Jones and Adrian Kohler: Handspring Puppet Company for "War Horse"

2011

Rob Murray: FTH:K "Listen with your Eyes" (Theatre of Deaf) I Frans Swart: Lefra Produksies for Development and Promotion of Afrikaans Theatre

2010

Daphne Kuhn for 20 years of commitment at the Old Mutual Theatre on the Square

2009

Isango Portobello for their production of "The Magic Flute"

Innovation in Theatre Award

This Award is presented to a Company, Producer or Individual demonstrating a significant contribution to the SA Theatre community through innovation, vision, commitment and leadership

2020

Johan van der Merwe and Rudi Sadler: DEURNIS

2019

Gladys Aghulas: Disabled Dance company

2018

Dorothy Ann Gould : JAM Shakespeare company

World Impact Award

This award is presented to an individual, company or group who have raised the bar of South
African theatre internationally

2020

Athol Fugard

2019

Dr John Kani

2018

William Kentridge

2017

Johnny Clegg

2016

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

2015

Handspring Puppet Company, the National Theatre of England, Peter Toerien and RMB for "WarHorse"

Lesedi Spirit of Courage Award

Presented to a theatre luminary who has transcended great disadvantage or trauma to make an impact

2020

Musa Motha

2019

Calvin Ratladi

2018

Oscar von Memerty

2017

Erik Holm

2016

Gaynor Young